I fucking hate IE. Period.

I’ve  got two big problems from IE (so far!)  two days in a row, and I expect more to come. I’m about to kill myself. I fucking hate it. My code works like charm on all other browsers even on Chrome! I dunno what’s wrong with IE.

First problem: I receive an “Operation aborted” error message when you visit a Web page in Internet Explorer.

How to fix this problem?: The easiest way for you to fix the problem is to upgrade to Internet Explorer 8. This problem no longer occurs in Internet Explorer 8. To upgrade to Internet Explorer 8, visit the following Microsoft web site:
Windows Internet Explorer 8: Home page
http://www.microsoft.com/windows/internet-explorer/beta/default.aspx

Right! They expect me to go tell users to update their browsers. No, for real, are you kidding me?

Second problem:  li:hover does not work in IE.

Most modern browsers support the :hover selector for any html element. This is cool, because it enables you to, for instance, apply a mouseover effect to table rows <tr> using only CSS. IE however, has an erratic support for :hover at best, depending on the particular version your visitor is using. 

How do I fix this problem?: Link whatever:hover to the body element, and you’re all set. Note that behavior URLs are relative to the html file, not to the CSS file like a background image URL would be.

body { behavior: url("csshover3.htc"); }

If you’re already familiar with whatever:hover and just want to download it, scroll down and grab the latest version. For some in depth stuff on the other hand, just continue reading.

Posted on February 2, 2009, in Web Dev and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I sometimes think browser developers just want to see how much that can piss developers off. And yes, IE is the worst culprit.

  2. Ive got my torch and pitch fork, lets burn those bastards!

  3. Fucking I-E 8,,, this is fucking bullshit, neither store my passwords, and logs me out of yahoo while i am checking mails.

Leave a Reply

