Above & Beyond: Anjunabeats Volume 8 – Official Promo Video





In the world of Above & Beyond there’s only ever one way — up. In the last few years alone, the UK based production/DJ trio have debuted their full live show in front of 8,000 fans in Beirutplayed to 1 million people on a beach in Rio de Janiero and even been chosen to soundtrack the unveiling of Virgin Galactic’s SpaceShipTwo. Not once, however, have they or their Anjunabeats label rested on their laurels.

Across a span of over 170 releasesAbove & Beyond’s Anjunabeats imprint has grown from humble beginnings to become a global standard-bearer for trance and melodic electronic music. Now, more than ever, it is is synonymous with a quality control that is all too lacking in today’s quick-fix digital age.

The two-disc Anjunabeats Volume 8 compilation is exactly how trance in 2010 should be. A journey showcasing the full spectrum of Above & Beyond’s sound, the compilation takes in electro-influenced grooves, deeper trance and hypnotic progressive textures alongside their trademark euphoric anthems.

Above & Beyond themselves offer a taste of their long awaited second artist album through the instant, emotional highlight ‘A Thing Called Love’, while their debut collaboration with respected German duo Kyau & Albert (‘Anphonic’) provides a driving, upbeat club monster that will be sending message boards, clubs and stadia crazy for months to come.

With over 20 separate artists featuredAnjunabeats Volume 8 is also a testament to the vital transatlantic family that the label now represents. Ascendant talents like Arty, Aruna and 7 Skies inspire fresh excitement. Andrew Bayer’s trio of deep, genre-blurring productions mark him out as one of the most exciting names to come through the ranks since Mat Zo, who himself features through his remix of ‘Live Forever’ by Lange feat. Emma Hewitt.

There’s welcome room, of course, for long-standing Anjuna favourites like Oliver Smith, Nitrous Oxide and Super8 & Tab who make a double appearance ahead of their debut artist album and unleash their most accomplished creations yet. In the beautifully crafted ‘Piece Of Me’Daniel Kandihas another timeless classic in the making and Dutchman Bart Claessen offers the magically climbing ’90 Nights Of Summer’Volume 8 also heralds the first Anjuna release by Duderstadt with ‘Stranded in NYC’ plus new Anjuna signings Parker & Hanson, Thomas Datt and Who.Is, a collaborative project from Bart Claessen and Raz Nitzan.

Put simply, the mix is a snapshot of the future. The future of Above & Beyond, the future of the Anjunabeats family and the future of trance.

Disc 1

1. Parker & Hanson “Alquimia”
2. Duderstadt “Stranded in NYC”
3. Aruna & Mark Eteson “Let Go”
4. Oliver Smith “Chordplay”
5. Boom Jinx & Andrew Bayer “Keyboard Cowboys”
6. Above & Beyond vs. Kyau & Albert “Anphonic”
7. Arty “Rush”
8. Maor Levi feat. Ashley Tomberlin “Chasing Love”
9. Super8 & Tab feat. Anton Sonin “Black Is The New Yellow”
10. Andrew Bayer “From The Earth (Breakfast Remix)”
11. Bart Claessen “90 Nights Of Summer”
12. Above & Beyond & Gareth Emery pres. OceanLab “On A Good Day [Metropolis]”
13. Thomas Datt pres. Asedo “Seven Years”
14. Daniel Kandi “Piece Of Me”

Disc 2

1. Andrew Bayer “A Farewell (Intro Edit)”
2. Andrew Bayer “The Taxi Driver”
3. Arty “The Wonder”
4. 7 Skies “Sushi”
5. Lange “Live Forever Feat. Emma Hewitt (Mat Zo Dub)”
6. Who.Is “We.Are”
7. Above & Beyond feat. Richard Bedford “Thing Called Love (Club Mix)”
8. David West feat. Andreas Hermansson “Larry Mountains 54 (Juventa Remix)”
9. Adam Nickey “Altara”
10. Daniel Kandi “Forgive Me”
11. Super8 & Tab feat. Jan Burton “Mercy (Extended Mix)”
12. Alt+F4 “Alt+F4 (Dan Stone Remix)”
13. Nitrous Oxide “Dreamcatcher (Club Mix)”
14. Oceanlab vs. Passive Progressive “Sky Falls Away”


Posted on June 24, 2010, in Above & Beyond, Trance and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: